• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

USB Port Installation Tutorial

Philipp

Reaction score
Visit site
EDIT: I posted the first part of my tutorial for installing a USB plug underneath the document lid:

http://nc700-forum.com/forum/nc700-mods/1249-usb-port-installation-tutorial.html#post14395

Would still appreciate your help with the second part to install a USB port on the handlebars (see below).

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I would like to install two USB ports on my NC700X and need a little assistance since this is my first time working on a motorcylce. I assume that down the road others may want to do something similar so I'd like to put together a tutorial. I'll update this post with instructions from other users as I get them.

This is the USB outlet I purchased for my handlebar: (Link 1). I would like to connect it to the ignition so that it is only powered when the key is turned on.

This is the USB outlet I purchased for the fake trunk: (Link 2). I am planning to install it underneath the hidden document compartment and would like to hook it up directly to the battery so that it is always powered on. (re-charge my bluetooth overnight, etc...)

At first I assumed that I can connect both of these directly to the battery. However, I keep reading about a sub harness (link) that you allegedly need to get from Honda to install any sort of electric devices.

So here are my main questions as of right now:

• What does the sub harness do and do I need to get it to do any of this?
  • I have successfully located the battery (behind the maintenance panel). Can I just connect the red and black wires from my USB port in the trunk to the red and black ports on the battery?