• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

3/4 Helmet Opinions

I just purchased a 2017 nc700xd this month. I also purchased for the first time a modular helmet. I like it for the first hour but after that I get a headache. The safety issue makes perfect sense to me but I always found the full face helmets claustrophobic and vision limiting when I tried them on. I am hoping to adjust to the modular but for longer trips I will continue to use the 3/4. By the way I have been riding for a while I am 73 years old and got my first bike at 14 years old. I have been very fortunate. Only one accident in which I broke my foot.

Regardless of type (3/4, modular, etc.) never purchase ANY helmet before first wearing it on your head for at least 20-30 minutes, because all of our heads are shaped differently.

Years ago, before buying my first Nolan modular helmet, I walked into a BMW motorcycle store to buy a modular Schuberth helmet, based on reviews I'd read. The (awesome) salesperson refused my credit card at the register. He said, "Put on the helmet and chill out for half an hour here in the showroom. If it feels good after that (i.e. no hot spots, pain, etc.) you should buy it."

Guess what? That helmet started to really hurt after about 10 minutes. I thanked the salesperson. The following week I did the same thing with a Nolan modular helmet at another store. No "delayed hot spots," so I bought it.

I've worn out three and I'm now on my fourth Nolan.

N104-with-3-older-Nolans_w4.jpg

macguy:

I think the 3/4 helmet looks fine.
Get 100 people and ask them their opinion of the same thing and you will get 100 different answers.
How do YOU feel riding with 3/4 protection?
I do feel safer in a full face helmet but when riding in the mountain back roads I like a 3/4 helmet.
I like a lot what DD showed you.