• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Experience with a Kawasaki x300 Versys?

Birdman

Reaction score
Visit site
I am a 2012 NCx owner from Minnesota. We have been spending 4 months or so each winter in Arizona. I am considering keeping a bike in Az, and was wondering if any of the inmates here can share their experience/opinion of the x300 Versys, a bike on my short list. (Another possibility would be something a bit older, like a BMW f650gs.)

I prefer something light and easy to maneuver; have done many big displacement rides over the years, prefer something svelte and, uh, less cumbersome.

Good or bad, likes/dislikes, whatever is relevant please share. It may help my make my decision.

I have no personal riding experience with the Versys-X 300, but I’ve had plenty of time to observe one in action. One of our forum members here, Fuzzy, has an NC700X DCT and a Versys-X 300.

I rode two big trips with Fuzzy, from midwest USA to Alaska, and to Newfoundland. Fuzzy chose to take the Versys on both trips. I observed that the Versys-X was a very capable motorcycle. Fuzzy led the trips and at times I had to work to keep up. It did have the drive chain peel off on the Alaska Highway due to an AWOL master link, probably the dealer’s fault as they had installed it. It also developed a bad starter motor that got replaced in Nova Scotia. Being a manual transmission, the starter problem was not a show stopper as the bike could be bump started.

The Versys-X seemed capable of handling a full load of Givi Trekker luggage. I couldn’t see any faults with the machine‘s performance. The Versys was on my short list for a small bike, but I went with a CRF250L Rally instead as I wanted better off road performance for where I wanted to ride it.