• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Handlebar and Mod Setup

NW Comet

Site Supporter
Joined
Aug 5, 2017
Messages
111
Reaction score
13
Points
18
Location
Pacific Northwest
Visit site
I am in the process of installing a combo 12v socket/USB outlet on my handlebars and I thinking there has got to be a better way to arrange things on my handlebars. Currently, I have Barkbuster Storms, on/off switch for running lights, a button for a garage door opener, phone mount on a Ram ball, and the 12v/usb outlet that I am in the process of wiring up. I find the phone a little low when using a mapping app and looking up to the road so I would like to get it higher and someday add a GPS. I am sure I will come up with more things "I need". The handlebar layout feels crowded especially as I add in the outlets.

Can you share a picture of your handlebars and how you setup your mods or have any ideas to improve things for me?

NC Bar 1.jpg
 

rippin209

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2016
Messages
1,569
Reaction score
49
Points
48
Location
US
Visit site
I am in the process of installing a combo 12v socket/USB outlet on my handlebars and I thinking there has got to be a better way to arrange things on my handlebars. Currently, I have Barkbuster Storms, on/off switch for running lights, a button for a garage door opener, phone mount on a Ram ball, and the 12v/usb outlet that I am in the process of wiring up. I find the phone a little low when using a mapping app and looking up to the road so I would like to get it higher and someday add a GPS. I am sure I will come up with more things "I need". The handlebar layout feels crowded especially as I add in the outlets.

Can you share a picture of your handlebars and how you setup your mods or have any ideas to improve things for me?

View attachment 36798
Not sure how much room the garage door opener takes up but someone posted a slick how to on getting your high beam switch to activate a garage door opener located in the side of the faux gas tank walls. So one you turn the high beam on it would be the same as raping the open button on your garage door opener.
 

NW Comet

Site Supporter
Joined
Aug 5, 2017
Messages
111
Reaction score
13
Points
18
Location
Pacific Northwest
Visit site
Not sure how much room the garage door opener takes up but someone posted a slick how to on getting your high beam switch to activate a garage door opener located in the side of the faux gas tank walls. So one you turn the high beam on it would be the same as raping the open button on your garage door opener.

Interesting thought about replacing the garage button with a link to the high beam switch. My opener is down inside the faux tank walls and just a (red) button to the left of center of the handle bars. Doesn't take a lot of space but I don't have lots to work with to begin with. I considered wiring my running lights straight to my headlights but I think best to have a separate switch for them.
 

rippin209

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2016
Messages
1,569
Reaction score
49
Points
48
Location
US
Visit site
Interesting thought about replacing the garage button with a link to the high beam switch. My opener is down inside the faux tank walls and just a (red) button to the left of center of the handle bars. Doesn't take a lot of space but I don't have lots to work with to begin with. I considered wiring my running lights straight to my headlights but I think best to have a separate switch for them.
I saw how little the garage door switch was after posting, sounds like a lot of work for a small gain but it's an option. I've got auxiliary lights as well and also choose to keep the switches separate.

The switch I have is smaller, I used a bracket I had lying around and drilled and cut to fit my needs

Core Tools CT126-LS-B Black Push Button Waterproof Switch Amazon.com: Core Tools CT126-LS-B Black Push Button Waterproof Switch: Automotive

Once again not huge gains but it's something, and at least the switch is pretty easy

a516a513cf79a0020de1c7c3b439e64d.jpg
 

lue42

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2016
Messages
261
Reaction score
4
Points
18
Location
St Thomas, Ontario
Visit site
I see that you have a MadStad and wanted to point out what I did to mount my phone...

Info here:
Affordable Motorcycle GPS options - Looking for input

This gets the phone up off your handlebar and more into your line-of-sight.

For my garage door opener I mounted a small button on my handlebar, which it looks like you did too. It doesn't take up much room, so I wouldn't worry about changing it.
Handlebar button for garage door opener (DIY farkle)

I have the frunk accessory outlet and have a cable running from there up to my handebar - I don't see the need to have a handlebar mounted USB or outlet. Can you move your outlets down onto your engine bars and run wires as needed to it there? (like I did with my TPMS display - here)
 

drdubb

Site Supporter
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
1,822
Reaction score
116
Points
63
Location
Raleigh, NC
Visit site
this was mine awhile back

1231151827a_zpsr5pn0ruy-L.jpg


I changed a few things. I added a crossbar, and put a bag on that. moved the heated grip controller to the right lever,
The Madstad shield provides a steel plate to which I've bolted several Ram mounts. Very convenient.

2018071609011787-71C77460-4F5F-4778-88DF-8536D33E132E-L.jpg
 

NW Comet

Site Supporter
Joined
Aug 5, 2017
Messages
111
Reaction score
13
Points
18
Location
Pacific Northwest
Visit site
this was mine awhile back

1231151827a_zpsr5pn0ruy-L.jpg


I changed a few things. I added a crossbar, and put a bag on that. moved the heated grip controller to the right lever,
The Madstad shield provides a steel plate to which I've bolted several Ram mounts. Very convenient.

2018071609011787-71C77460-4F5F-4778-88DF-8536D33E132E-L.jpg

I need to look a little closer at what I can do with my Madstad bracket for attaching Ram mounts. I really appreciate the picture and suggestions.
 
Top