• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Leaking Radiator

SergeantChuck

Commuter Extraordinaire
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
I just had my first part failure on the NCX. My radiator has sprung a leak and I was not aware of the issue until I had parked in my garage. I drained a decent amount of fluid from the radiator before removal so I'm glad to say that I did not run the bike dry. I'm also thankful that the radiator is easy to remove.

I have been riding for 30 years and never once had a bad radiator and the NCX is the first bike I have added a radiator guard. LOL. I ride the bike daily and primarily travel interstate and state highways so there is plenty of opportunities for debris.

The reassembly seems pretty straight forward but I'm more than happy to listen to any tips, tricks, or suggestions. Now the search begins for a radiator and they are not cheap.

20161017_173211_1476744632399.jpg

20161017_173222_1476744632156.jpg

in the photo, the 2nd row from the bottom looks like it's been tampered with. The very small fins (or whatever they are) are not spaced evenly as they are in every other row).

in the photo, the 2nd row from the bottom looks like it's been tampered with. The very small fins (or whatever they are) are not spaced evenly as they are in every other row).

I thought the same thing but I did not mention it. I did nothing to damage the radiator during removal.

Any chance the radiator guard rubbed the radiator the wrong way and caused the leak ????

Agree the fins are damaged in the second row and the third water tube up has a mark on it ???

IMG_1258.jpg

Last edited:
Any chance the radiator guard rubbed the radiator the wrong way and caused the leak ????

Agree the fins are damaged in the second row and the third water tube up has a mark on it ???