• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Lube for clutch/throttle cable

2wheeledJim

Reaction score
Visit site
Someone on another forum said "if your clutch cable is nylon lined, only use a certain type of lubricant and avoid some other type at all costs".
I just want to make sure I don't do anything stupid as it's my first time servicing motorcycle cables.
Which type do we have in our NCs? Is 3-in-1 or white lithium appropriate? What about this stuff? Cheers guys!

P.s. do we just use the exact same stuff for clutch & throttle cables or are there differences?

Honda cables have a plastic liner that does not need lubrication and lubes that attract dust and grit actually increase wear of the cable.

Hmm interesting, my manual says 'Lubricate the clutch cable with a commercially available cable lubricant to prevent premature wear and corrosion'.
Also, my clutch lever feels very stiff so I was hoping a lube through would do the trick.

Inspect the clutch cable to see if it has been pinched or kinked causing the inner cable to drag on the outer housing. If there is any damage visible replace the cable. Lube the hand lever pivot and where the cable attaches to the lever, also lube the linkage where the cable attaches to the actuator lever on the crankcase cover. Lube those points periodically, more frequently if you ride in the rain.