• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

OEM Saddlebag and Carrier Installation

PortlandZinMan

Site Supporter
Premium Member
Reaction score
Visit site
Oh boy...

I finally got all the parts to install the OEM saddlebags and I bought from another member here. I bought the carrier rack as well as all the brackets. As I opened the boxes, I found no installation instructions were included. Being a smart internet sort, I was able to locate and print all six sets of instructions.

I am not a mechanic or handyman, I'll admit. Going through the instructions, I see cutting, gluing, filing, templates and drilling large holes in my plastic are all involved in the installation ... not a simple "bolt on" process. It seems daunting. I tried searching for help, but nothing specific is out there. Anyone here do this recently and can point me in the right direction as to helpful hints (like where do I start?)...

Another question - the set of instructions for the carrier and the set for the side saddlebag brackets both include the new grab rail install - do I install the carrier or the side brackets first?

I am definitely going to wait for the weekend - I don't want to start this unless I can get all the way through it.

If you can't help, I could sure use a few "good luck, mate" messages...

Last edited:
I my be wrong but I think I remember someone saying the instructions make it look a lot worse then it is. I specially remember someone asking about cutting the plastic for the grab bar and another member here saying he didn't have to he just pushed it out of the way. Good luck, take your time and compare pics also not just the diagrams. I have the OEM side cases and can post a couple of pics later if you want