• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Need Help Question on Wiring in Electrical Accessories

Trig

Reaction score
Visit site
Good afternoon everyone, electrical wiring novice here

I'm in the process of adding on some heated grips and a power socket to my 700x. I am also wiring in a Rowe Electronics PDM 60 power distributor to keep the accessories from draining the battery.
Initially I was looking through the forums to find a 'trigger wire' that comes on with the ignition to wire up to the PDM, but after doing some research I've been hearing about using the OEM sub-harness for accessories.
I haven't seen much as to how exactly this sub harness works. Is it being tapped for a trigger wire or are people running non-OEM accessories off of this harness?
Any feedback on how to best wire up the accessories would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance!

What model year is your bike? The accessory harnes has changed a little over different years. Basically it supplies 7.5 amps of fused, switched power spread over several circuits A Honda supplied relay added to the fuse panel applies power to the harness outputs when the key is on.

Honda intends for some of their accessories to run off this harness. If you expect to add a lot of accessories, i think a Fuzeblock or PDM 60 is still a good idea. The Honda harness alone would be somewhat limited in total power output, being that it can only supply 7.5 amps. You could use both, using one accessory harness output for a trigger wire.

My memory is fuzzy, but I believe on my 2012 NC700X, I do have the Honda accessory harness, and it runs Oxford heated grips, a power socket on the handlebars, and auxillarly LED lighting through a Skene controller - all aftermarket stuff. Those items work fine with the 7.5 amp limit. I have no genuine Honda electrical accessories.

Last edited: