• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Thoughts on the gearing on the Honda NC700X manual

makepies

Reaction score
Visit site
Hello folks, newbie here. Returning to motorcycling after 12+ years off.

I would like to hear from owners of the manual model how they find the gearing / gear ratios. You see I'm considering plunking down for a 2016 w/ low mileage (~2000) but I haven't ridden one yet. I'm finding that a LOT of bikes are geared low and want you to ride with high revs. I would *prefer* though I haven't found it yet to get a little more torque down low (say <3000rpm) and keep it all relaxed but, due to the higher torque, separate the gears a little more so you have a little more usable power range within each gear so you don't have to shift as often.

I've read a lot about the low revs and high low-RPM torque on these bikes but no mention of how they are geared - short or tall - except for a few references to treating 6th as an overdrive gear.

So how are these geared? Thanks ...

At 70mph the bike sits around 4k and isn't buzzy. I don't feel that the bike wants to be revved high at all. I'm on stock gearing with my '17 NC700X and have been for all of my 52k+ miles.

6th can take you from 30-35 all the way up to top speed. 4-5-6th can all maintain freeway speeds. I think 3rd can do freeway speeds too but it's not something I test out enough to recall.

I've never felt that I shift too often, even in stop and go traffic in the Seattle or Tacoma areas.

I have changed gearing on one or two motorcycles I did own in the past. And, I will very soon be changing the final drive gearing on my Goldwing 1800 that I currently own. However, I find the stock NC700X manual transmission gearing to be perfect just as it is. I have no need or desire to change the NC’s gearing.