• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Question What is a big guy to do for lower body protection?

US 421 Retread

Reaction score
Visit site
I just started riding a couple of months ago after a thirty year absence. Back then most of us didn't even think about protective gear beyond the mandatory helmet and eye protection. Since then the illusion of immortality has faded and with a bilateral knee replacement, I really want lower body protection.

I have a 49 inch waist. I have been to every cycle shop in the area, searched online, and contacted numerous online retailers regarding armored riding pants. Everybody so far says they do not exist.

I actually bought an inexpensive pair of 5XL pants that the sizing chart claimed had a 49 inch waist. The waist snaps lack 8 inches of snapping closed. Otherwise, they fit great except for being an inch or two short in the inseam. I'm even able to wear MX style knee and shin guards under them(a bit tight and hampering). I made a waist extension with velcro to hold the pants on, but I am not confident they would stay in place in a slide.

Any suggestions?

I looked at them, and even though they are way out of my reach, I checked out the sizing chart. Turns out a size 50 actually has a 44 inch waist. That is the kind of thing that has been driving me nuts the last couple of months.

It does look like using their sizing tool form might get a size 54 custom made to fit me.

Here is what a XXXXXL from LeatherUp.com with a 49 in waist looks like on a 49 inch waist:

Attachments

• Resized_20220426_171047(1).jpeg
    Resized_20220426_171047(1).jpeg
    164.2 KB · Views: 15