• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

16,000 Miles, Check the Valves or Not?

belrix

Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
My 2012 is getting ready to turn over 16,000 miles and I'm trying to decide if I should check the valves or wait until 24,000 miles.

The majority of the threads I've read state that the valves always seem to be within tolerance when checked. Plus I'm no mechanic and taking the head off of the engine scares me!

Would I be hurting anything by waiting until 24,000 miles to check the valves?

Thanks

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Since it's the first check, I recommend doing it on schedule. Based on what adjustment is required this time, you can adjust the interval longer or shorter for the next one.

The answer is obvious and I'm sure you know it already what it is. If you have stomach cramps because of it, don't do it by yourself this first time. You don't need to go to a dealer. Most auto mechanics can do it without problem if you give them service manual. It is very likely that valve clearance wouldn't require any adjustments but better for you if you know it. After that you good to go for another 16k miles. Not checking now maybe costly mistake.

Greg gave you good advice. If/since this is the first check for yours (my '12 calls for every 8k), you should do the check now and make adjustments going forward, if warranted, based on what you see.