• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Need Advice on Oil Change?

Duke Nukem

Reaction score
Visit site
It is time for my first oil change and is there anything special I should know? I heard that with the first oil change the dealer may need to put the bike on the computer to adjust timing and/or rev limiter? Have any of you heard of this or is this just the standard oil change? What oil do you recommend? Any advice will be helpful!

I highly suggest an oil filter tool like this, it is just like the one I ended up usingLisle 63600 Import Car Oil Filter Wrench 2-1/2 In to 3-1/8 In and a long handle 3/8" ratchet or breaker bar. I fix cars for a living and that has got to be the tightest oil filter I have ever removed. Everything else you need to know is in the manual, there is another thread on here that describes how to check the steering head bearings too as I believe that is part of the 600 mi service as well.

Last edited:
Hi
I think you mean first service?
It is just an oil change (with filter) and then a visual inspection on "everything".

Unless you have a problem with the engine, they will not do a diagnostics on the "timing" on a computer.
I am unaware if there is a rev-limiter on this bike.

Hope this reassures you.
:D
~Joe

It is time for my first oil change and is there anything special I should know? I heard that with the first oil change the dealer may need to put the bike on the computer to adjust timing and/or rev limiter? Have any of you heard of this or is this just the standard oil change? What oil do you recommend? Any advice will be helpful!

The dealer does no such thing as adjusting the timing or the rev limiter. These are set for the life of the machine, the rev limiter especially.