• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

advise for a used NC700X

rjcrtc

Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Hope to own a 2012 NC700X with 10,000 miles, in the next few days. Please advise if there are any specific items I should check carefully while evaluating the condition of the bike. I have been riding since 1992 and this will be my 8th bike. Never owned more than one at a time. Just got rid of the most uncomfortable ride I have ever owned - a Ducati Diavel. It just killed my hips. Could not ride it for more than an hour.

Only known issue on the 2012 was a drive chain recall. It affected only certain chains but they were all inspected. You can check the VIN at the Honda site to see if it's been done. American Honda Motor Co. Other than that, usual used motorcycle stuff. I'd guess by 10,000 miles, the original stock tires are gone. Not that they were terrible, but they didn't have really long life.

I've got about 6k on my '12 manual tranny. I bought it used at 1300 miles. No issues to report! Good luck, keep us posted.

Same here. welcome. I'm also in the KC area and right at about that mileage on my 2012. Just FYI - there is a regular maintenance interval at 8K to change oil + filter and check valve clearance. Most folks (myself included) will drain/fill coolant at same time - Maintenance Schedule attached.

2012 NC700X Maintenance Schedule.jpg

I am on near 40000 from new and would happily buy one at this mileage as still goes like or better than new , The only expensive thing to look for would be saggy leaky suspension.

Try to find a bike with an after market seat, as most folks will purchase a new more comfortable seat. Used seats are posted for sale on this forum often.